Gear Which Worked Brilliantly In Jämtland

Rab Alpine 400 Down Sleeping Bag

This was a new bag, which I’d bought specially for long, summer trips. I generally sleep cold, so I was mildly concerned that I would end up wearing my down jacket as well, half the time, but I never did. It far exceeded my expectations. The coldest nights we had were around 4°C.

Montane Primino Long Johns And Primino Alpine Hoody

I’ve always loved these base layers. I took them primarily for sleeping in, but I also wore the Hoody as a base layer one day when it was particularly cold.

They are just super cozy.

Montane still make the leggings and a long sleeved zipped top, but I’m really disappointed that they no longer make the Alpine Hoody – if anyone out there happens to have a men’s Alpine Hoody in XL, which they don’t want, please let me know! 😄

Paramo Velez Jacket

Brilliant as always, in the wettest weather we’ve ever had on any of our Swedish trips!

Altberg Tethera Boots

Like wearing slippers as far as I’m concerned, I’m so glad I discovered these – probably about 15 years ago now.

Keen Clearwater Sandals

I’ve had this particular pair about 8 years (Geoff has some too) – perfect for camp wear etc and brill for river crossings, when you both need protection and security on your feet. I’m not a natural at these big and rough river crossings, but the last thing I want to be worrying about is my feet when I’m having to deal with fast/strong/deep water which is impossible to see through, meaning that you haven’t a clue what you’re stepping onto – rocks/boulders/tree roots/sharp stuff etc.

The Clearwater model is the lightest sandal that Keen make.

Hot Chocolate

I’m not a morning person, and dragging myself out of bed can be a challenge anywhere, even at home. But some mornings can be even harder, when waking to torrential rain and the like. But a hot chocolate first thing – even before I’m even thinking about breakfast – can work wonders!

3 thoughts on “Gear Which Worked Brilliantly In Jämtland

  1. The sandals sound good – especially if you can’t see what you’re putting your feet on in a river! I always use Paramo clothing in cold/wet areas – I like that I can just put my Paramo waterproof trousers on next to my skin if I want to and they’re still comfy. I normally hate waterproof trousers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The sandals are great for travelling in too, rather than walking boots! Very useful.
      I love Paramo and the Velez Jacket is much lighter than their original stuff so is ok for backpacking. I love the way it vents too and you can roll the sleeves up if you want. We do also have the trousers, but we don’t actually use those backpacking because of their weight, we use Paclite ones instead. They’re not as comfy but we have to compromise with some things when out for a long time!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have to admit I generally just wear featherlite overtrousers on the hill unless it’s winter in Scotland. They’re not totally waterproof, more showerproof, but they’re windproof and that’s far more important here. Those sandals sound really good – I’ll have to look some out.

        Liked by 1 person

Sadly, I've felt the need to reinstate comment moderation. Please be patient, your comment may not appear immediately but you shouldn't have to wait too long! Chrissie