Pebbles On Kinder

Pebbles had received some very nifty new panniers at Christmas, but hadn’t yet tried them out properly. It was time we made the effort.

dsc_1861

After studying the MWIS forecast in some detail, Friday night looked like a good bet. The weather was getting colder and drier, and some forecast foggy stuff wasn’t due to come in until Saturday lunchtime. So, a last minute decision was made on Friday morning and we packed up.

I wasn’t fussed about walking any great distances, but had a spot in mind only a few miles from us, that I thought might fit the bill.

The weather was indeed blue-sky-gorgeous in the afternoon, ย with just a hint of a fresh breeze as we got higher up.

dsc_1866

dsc_1868

dsc_1871

I had been careful not to load the panniers up too much. Some people say that dogs should be able to carry a third of their body weight, others say it should be no more than a quarter. At around 25kg, I have no intention of ever asking Pebbles to carry more than 5kg, and she did in fact, only have 1.2kg in her panniers this day. ย She had no trouble with that, so I decided she could carry her bed (830g) as well, on the homeward journey.

The potential camping spot we were aiming for delivered a large flat ledge, lots of soft heather and a tiny stream nearby for water.

dsc_1875

dsc_1877

dsc_1878

I generally tie Pebbles to my full rucksack whilst I’m putting the tent up, but in the cold wind that was starting to materialise, she insisted on barking at me to make her displeasure known at having to suffer that indignity.

I just ignored her. Things were soon sorted though and a brew on the go.

dsc_1880

dsc_1882

I had downloaded some stuff to watch on I-Player for the evening, so sat and enjoyed the Bluestone 42 Christmas Special before cooking tea.

And looking out over Manchester and Stockport a bit later, I was pleasantly surprised at both the sunset and the city lights. Even the lights seemed quite spectacular in the crystal clear night. For once, I wished I’d had a better camera with me.

dsc_1892

dsc_1893

By now, I was quite surprised at how windy it was getting. It was touching on being strong enough to hinder walking a little. I was sure I hadn’t seen anything about this on the forecast!

The tent is very stable though and I eventually slept surprisingly well – given that I was woken several times by the noise of some particularly gusty periods.

I woke properly at about 7-ish and lay there until it started to look a bit lighter outside. When Pebbles and I finally did have to go out – for toileting purposes – it was absolutely bitter. Her drinking water was frozen, the tent was covered in frost and the wind chill effect was God knows what. I was really pleased I’d lugged my big Rab duvet jacket up for the night!

It was also decidedly murky.

dsc_1894

dsc_1897

dsc_1900

We breakfasted at leisure before tackling the packing up routine. It was far too cold and wild to take stuff outside, so both my rucksack and Pebbles’ panniers had to be sorted in the tent. We’ve practiced this before in good weather, and she was a little star, sitting quietly while I faffed with stuff all around her.

The time came though, when we just had to go out. You can’t pack a tent away while you’re still in it. She came in and helped while I dropped the inner, but I just had to tie her to the rucksack again while I sorted the outer. It was a bit of a wrestle in the wind and I was slightly stressed knowing that Pebbles wasn’t happy at this point. By the time I’d finished, she had managed to make herself into the tiniest curl-up imagineable, in the ‘shelter’ of my pack. She’d also managed to tie her legs up with her lead..

For the first half hour of the descent, the wind made walking a little challenging, but then suddenly, we dropped into a calm day, and even passed people on their way up Kinder in shorts. They would get a shock later.

And Pebbles had no trouble with the extra weight of her bed on the way back, even having spare energy to keep jumping into icy puddles, just ’cause it was fun.

dsc_1903

dsc_1905

dsc_1908

dsc_1909

About chrissiedixie

Love being out on the moors and mountains, backpacking, dogs, travelling generally. Favourite place in the world - Yosemite National Park. Retired teacher and ex Mountain Rescue Deputy Team Leader. Married to Geoff, who puts up with all sorts.
This entry was posted in Bits and Pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pebbles On Kinder

  1. Fellbound says:

    Good trip. Well done to you both.

  2. She does keep you on your toe Chrissie….lol. Excellent read and well done Pebbles.

  3. I know how she feels curling up into a tiny ball in windchill – I often feel like doing that but generally go for the option she didn’t have of getting the hell out of there as fast as possible. Cold enough to freeze a waterbowl in the tent would be way too cold for me for camping.

  4. Good stuff, Chrissie. Love our dogs but they’re far too small to take a proper hill day in. A shame as the companionship would be welcome.

  5. Thanks Elton ๐Ÿ˜Š I have to say it is rather nice being out with a dog! It can be quite hard work though, a bit like having a young child with you at times as you have to always think of them first. It’s taken a few years and lots of experimenting with different equipment to get to a fairly relaxed system. Fun though!

  6. Brenda-Dawn Linney says:

    Wonderful stuff, bet those panniers will not be shiny new for long!

  7. They do look a bit shiny still, don’t they?! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. surfnslide says:

    Great stuff, impressed you took the plunge to camp with young Pebbles on such a cold day. I was out in the Black Mountains on Saturday and that cold wind caught me by surprise as well. It was pleasant in the sun but bitingly cold in the wind

    • Thanks Andy ๐Ÿ˜Š I do know Pebbles will actually be fine with her two coats that she can layer and her fancy sleeping bag, but I also keep wondering about buying one of those Kestrel thingys – I’d love to have known what the wind chill temperature was that night!

  9. Sartenada says:

    I love Your landscape photos.

Feel free to leave a comment!

