My Perfect Pillow

After many years of faffing and moaning (I’m very fussy) I feel as though I’ve finally sorted a pillow arrangement for backpacking, that suits me brilliantly:

Take one Exped air pillow (84g).

DSC_0923

A Western Mountaineering Down pillow (89g) with half the down removed, or else the whole thing would be just too thick.

DSC_0924

 

One Buff – weight doesn’t count as I carry this anyway.

DSC_0925Put them all together.

DSC_0926

DSC_0927

Absolutely perfect, sleep like a baby.

I used this system for 8 nights on the run in Sweden and it was brilliant – amazingly comfortable.

The only thing I’m now changing is I’ve ordered a UL Exped Pillow, which only weighs 44g.

Works for me!

About chrissiedixie

Love being out on the moors and mountains, backpacking, dogs, travelling generally. Favourite place in the world - Yosemite National Park. Retired teacher and ex Mountain Rescue Deputy Team Leader. Married to Geoff, who puts up with all sorts.
This entry was posted in Backpacking Trips, Bits and Pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Perfect Pillow

  1. solitaire285 says:

    Very innovative Chrissie, nice one!

  2. I really have faffed with pillows for years Dawn, I felt totally inspired when I thought of this! ๐Ÿ˜‚

  3. Thanks for that Chrissie – I have been looking for a solution stiff necks and bad sleep, Yours looks very comfy – The other solution I heard this year was Russ Manion;s idea to use upholstery foam…Freddy

  4. Like the idea of using a buff to hold the 2 pillows together (buffs are such wonderful multifunctional items). I wonder if you had a vest/gillet it could be used to replace the WM pillow. Pillow testing upcoming.

    • Interesting, because I have used a down vest in the past instead of the down pillow, I just got fed up of having to fold it really carefully to avoid having the zip under my face! ๐Ÿ˜€ Also, there was a night when I was chilly and then pulled the vest out to wear in bed….

      And, I’ve always put the buff around the Exped pillow anyway, even when I was just using it on its own. Partly because the pillow was then more comfy on your face, and also partly because it kept the pillow clean and a buff is really easy to wash!

      Actually, what’s really, really interesting about this post is how interested people are in it. I’ve had loads of comments on Facebook too – I’m obviously not the only person who’s been searching for that elusive pillow comfort whilst backpacking ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Margaret says:

    Don’t know how easy it is to find water when backpacking but I have a water pillow you fill the back to your desired firmness when you lay your head on it the water disperses and supports your neck does t matter if you lay on your side stomach or back. Fill it at night then empty it to pack and be on your way. Cool in summer warm in winter

    • Hi Margaret, hope you’re well! ๐Ÿ™‚

      That sounds really interesting that, never heard of it before! We usually camp near water anyway, as we need it for drinking/cooking etc. Will check it out, thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Mick Graham says:

    Brilliant, just returned from an overnighter in the Langdales where I spent about half an hour packing and re packing my dry bag with various bits of clothing to get the right pillow to no avail. I did think of trying to stuff my Sea to Summit pillow in the dry bag with my down top but it would not fit. The buff idea would solve that. Just off to try it out now that my wife has gone to work so she cant laugh at me!.
    Cheers!

    • I sympathise with everything you’ve just said there, Mick! Stuffing fleeces etc into bags never worked for me, either. At one point, I used to stuff my down jacket and that was comfy, but quickly became a problem as soon as it was cold enough to want to wear it……. Hope your Buff experimenting goes well! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. I have to admit I just fold up something like my fleece jumper and spend the night dribbling on that! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Carol.

  8. surfnslide says:

    You could re-title this post as “Pillow Talk” but you might get a slight different kind of response! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Until I bought an Exped pillow on a whim I was a “rollup clothing into a ball” person. The buff also stops it migrating around the tent. Hadn’t though of wrapping the buff around some extra stuffing as well – good idea. Like Mick says, some private testing so I don’t become a FOF!

Feel free to leave a comment!

