Farewell To Tilly

A year ago to the day, we lost our special Boxer, Dixie. Today, our wonderful Tilly went to join her.

04012009031

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tilly and Dixie

DSC01362

DSC01163

DSC04925

DSC04931 (1024x768)

DSC04940 (1024x768)

DSC04974 (1024x768)

DSC04973 (1024x768)

DSC04948

She had such a big heart and such an exuberance for life, I can’t begin to put into words how much we will miss her.

The house is so quiet.

 

About chrissiedixie

Love being out on the moors and mountains, backpacking, dogs, travelling generally. Favourite place in the world - Yosemite National Park. Retired teacher and ex Mountain Rescue Deputy Team Leader. Married to Geoff, who puts up with all sorts.
This entry was posted in Bits and Pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Farewell To Tilly

  1. Dawn says:

    Oh no, I am so sorry to hear that, such sad news. Please accept my commiserations. She seemed so healthy and full of life.

  2. southwestdesertlover says:

    Chrissie, I am so sorry for your loss. Losing a canine angel is one of life’s deepest sadness and you and your family are in my prayers. Sending you a big virtual hug. Love, Karen and Wyatt Earp

  3. Jayne Hill says:

    I am so sorry, there is nothing quite so wonderful as the companionship, love and friendship of our four-legged family members, and almost nothing as terrible as having to say goodbye.

  4. Gutted for you ..dont know what to say ……..

  5. Paul Besley says:

    So sorry to read this news. Thoughts are with you, I know you have wonderful memories of your time together. Take care.

  6. I thought she was only young? I won’t ask what happened as I’m sure it’s upsetting right now. You have my sympathies – it’s awful to lose a pet, especially at Christmas.
    Carol.

    • Thanks Carol. She was only 7, but had been plagued with various skeletal problems for about 4 years. She’d been taking a huge amount of pain relief medication every day for the last 2 years to keep her active, but eventually it just wasn’t enough.

  7. Sorry for your loss. Losing such a special member of the family is heart wrenching. Commiserations Chrissie.

  8. Daniel Fredrick Cody says:

    Chrissie and Geoff. I am shocked at the news. I just opened. I feel terrible for you. Sending my love. Daniel XXX

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  9. Mick Graham says:

    So sorry to hear that you have lost a faithful friend. Best wishesxx

  10. Paul Byrne says:

    Sorry to hear your sad news Chrissie and Geoff

  11. Rani says:

    They live such short lives, which is why it’s so important that they live happy lives. Yours look like they’ve had a cracking time.

  12. So sorry to hear this.

  13. Rest in Peace Tilly. She is now running in the hills with Dixie.

    John

  14. surfnslide says:

    That’s awful news Chrissie, I can’t imagine how you both must be feeling. Hopefully looking back on the photos will remind of the good times but I know from experience what a terrible time this is. I felt I knew Tilly through the blog and photos, always made me smile.
    All the best
    Andy

    • Thanks, Andy. She was far too young to leave us (only 7) but she had been dogged with both elbow and spinal problems for years, so it wasn’t entirely unexpected. Still difficult though. At least we feel we gave her plenty of good adventures in her short life.

  15. Mark Kelly says:

    I’m really sorry to read that Chrissie, been out of circulation and saw your post about lovely Islay first, then read this sad post. I hope the start of the year is full of energy and happiness – it looks like you’ll have your hands full! 🙂

  16. andysmgray says:

    She was a lovely looking dog Chrissie. I bet you and Geoff hold great memories of her that you’ll both treasure.

Feel free to leave a comment!

