A Night On The High Peak Trail

I was supposed to be making a start on the Pennine Bridleway, which just happens to follow the High Peak Trail for the first 15 miles. This initial section was going to be three days – starting at Wirksworth, then walking home to Hayfield with a couple of nights camping out.

It was last November (2014), and Geoff dropped me off at the starting point. He was on a long bike ride (starting at the same place as me) for the day and passed me in the afternoon on his way back down the trail.

The weather was gorgeous, and I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly I covered the 15 miles to the Royal Oak pub at Hurdlow, where I was camping for the night. The views were far ranging and I hardly saw anyone.

What I hadn’t been prepared for though, was how sore my feet were all along the soles, after pounding a very hard, almost tarmac-like surface for the whole way. To be fair, I blame most of this on the boots, and have since got some new ones.

I pitched the tent in the field behind the pub and had a good night’s sleep, despite the fact that it went down to around -5C, but my feet were still pretty painful in the morning so I rang Geoff to come and collect me.

Maybe at some point in the future, I’ll continue from where I left off!

DSC01008

DSC01007

DSC01010

DSC01014

DSC01015

 

 

DSC01021

 

DSC01026 (1024x768)

DSC01027

DSC01030 (1024x768)

DSC01031 (1024x768)

DSC01032 (1024x768)

DSC01037

DSC01040

DSC01041

DSC01042

 

About chrissiedixie

Love being out on the moors and mountains, backpacking, dogs, travelling generally. Favourite place in the world - Yosemite National Park. Retired teacher and ex Mountain Rescue Deputy Team Leader. Married to Geoff, who puts up with all sorts.
This entry was posted in Backpacking Trips, The Pennine Bridleway. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Night On The High Peak Trail

  1. beatingthebounds says:

    You can never account for how your feet will react. I once had to abandon a planned long distance walk due to a huge blister on the sole of my foot only two days in.

  2. It always amazes me the speed Richard can reach a pub too! 😉 Mind you, it’s not as fast as the speed I can reach a bakery or cafe towards the end of a walk!

    I never get on with long, hard, flat surfaces – I always suffer somewhere. Usually feet but often knees or other parts of my legs. I far prefer spongy ridge-walking…
    Carol.

  3. I really must get round to getting to know the Peak District better than I do currently. So much to do….

  4. razzah says:

    I get really sore feet when walking hard surfaces too, especially with a heavy pack. In Aberdeenshire there is the disused Deeside railway line that is now a walk – very pretty but they went and tarmaced most of it! Great for cycling, rubbish for walking on now.

    • Do you know that’s exactly what they’ve done on the High Peak Trail. 10 years ago, it was all soil. Occasionally a little muddy, but still ok for walking on. Since they’ve designated it as part of the Pennine Bridleway they’ve ‘upgraded’ it to nearly tarmac – compacted limestone stuff. Totally spoilt it. As an ex-horse rider I wouldn’t want to ride on it…all they’re thinking about is cyclists. And I say that as a cyclist too 😦

  5. Lovely photos Chrissie. Sore feet are a nuisance. Having arthritis in both feet, I find hard surfaces really bad for the feet. Hope you manage to complete the whole trail.

    • I kind of lost the impetus at the time, but I’m almost ready to think about it again….. 🙂

      By the way, I put a comment on your ‘Mud and Storm’ post but it’s not appeared yet… shall I do it again or has gone into spam do you think? 🙂

  6. surfnslide says:

    I cycled the High Peak Trail once and really enjoyed it, shame its been “upgraded”, it was rather pleasant, albeit a bit bumpy before

  7. Paul Byrne says:

    Hope your feet have recovered!

  8. Pingback: Another Bite Of The Pennine Bridleway | Dixie

Feel free to leave a comment!

