Dixie: 5th November 2001 – 20th December 2014

IMG_20141220_0001 (3)

IMG_20141220_0001 (2)

IMG_20141220_0001 (4)

001

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Image005

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Very Special Boxer Indeed

About chrissiedixie

Love being out on the moors and mountains, backpacking, dogs, travelling generally. Favourite place in the world - Yosemite National Park. Retired teacher and ex Mountain Rescue Deputy Team Leader. Married to Geoff, who puts up with all sorts.
This entry was posted in Bits and Pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Dixie: 5th November 2001 – 20th December 2014

  1. awww, so lovely, wonderful!!!

  2. mikeknipe says:

    Oh dear – you know that I know how you feel… sad times..

  3. I’m really sorry to read that Chrissie – just after Geoff’s bad news too. She had a great and long life though so you can be proud and pleased of that fact.
    Carol.

  4. southwestdesertlover says:

    Chrissie, you are in my heart and prayers. I’m so sorry for your loss. I’ve lost three Boxer canine angels – Rudy (a brindle), Moqui (fawn with black mask) and Doc Holliday (fawn with black mask). I’m grateful for each and every day I’ve had with each one. It’s heartbreaking to lose a beloved pet and especially am unconditionally-loving Boxer. My mom and dad received a little Boxer puppy for their wedding back in May of 1954 and Rocky became my “big brother” when I came along the next year.

    Great big virtual hugs Chrissie. I’m sending you and your family healing thoughts and energies tonight. If you ever would like to come for a visit and play with Wyatt Earp, my home is always open for you.

  5. Looks like you had great times together.
    Sorry to read about your news.
    Mark.

  6. Jayne Hill says:

    So sorry to read this, the pain of losing a four-paws is the horrendous price we pay for the love and joy we gain from sharing their lives. Dixie had the most wonderful life with you – walking, camping and more recently in the van, which she probably thought you purchased just for her, to enable her to still enjoy the outdoors without having to do such long walks and overnighters. Thinking of you both, and wishing Geoff a speedy recovery.

    • Hi Jayne, and many thanks for that lovely comment. I’m sure you’re right about Dixie thinking the van was hers, too. She always settled straight into wherever she was – tent or van – as though she owned it. And what a wonderful companion she made on all our adventures together.

  7. Chrissie, I am so sad to hear such bad news. My apologies that I was so slow in realizing.

  8. backpackingbongos says:

    Very sad news indeed Chrissie, especially as I know how much she meant to you. Love that last photo, very Dixie.

    • It’s so sad, but I really have been aware that the moment was coming for the past week or so. Still hard to prepare yourself for, though.
      That last photo is lovely, isn’t it? It was taken on the banks of the river Aire, when we were doing the Pennine Way together. In fact I liked it so much, I used it for her passport photo.

  9. Helen says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this. I know how hard it is. Even in the short time I’ve “known” her, it’s obvious she’s a very special, and well loved, dog. You guys were lucky to have each other I think. Take care.
    Helen and Merlin

  10. razzah says:

    Oh I am so sorry. I know how hard it is to lose a pet – they are actually part of your family. It sounded like she had the absolute best life with you though, I am sure you have some lovely memories.
    Rowena

  11. Chrissie
    I read the title of this post and thought “Oh no, has Dixie passed away?” Looking over the photos revealed this was probably a celebration of life, especially the last photo!! Whilst we don’t have a dog we know that one gets attached to pets and they form an important part of one’s life (we have two cats now approaching 17 years old). When they are not there, you do notice this. Your walks may be different in the future but Dixie will be with you always. She is probably running free somewhere in the Peak District as I write this!
    John Hutchins

  12. surfnslide says:

    Hi Chrissie

    So sorry to hear the awful news. It was clear from the first words I ever read on your blog how much she meant to you. Although I never met Dixie, I feel I know her so well through your posts and photos. A real character, like they all are. I know only too well the hardest part of knowing that you outlive them but also how much they enrich your lives. They are part of the family and become more, so much more, than just a best friend.

    A wonderful post in celebration of Dixie’s life. Must have been terribly hard to write but I hope in some way comforting to relive the great times and memories. Some lovely photos – I adore those puppy photos.

    Take care

    Andy

  13. surfnslide says:

    Another beautiful tribute from Geoff. The sense of emotion he, and you, must have been and still are feeling was so strong. Brought back some of my own fond memories of my dog Harry which is of course how you always remember them

  14. Mark Kelly says:

    I just spotted this post Chrissie and the sad news news about Dixie. You could tell from the blog and also those lovely photos you posted that she was a great dog and had a happy life with you. Hope you’re all doing okay at a sad time.

    • Thanks for that, Mark. It’s definitely been a funny sort of Christmas without her. The house is amazingly quiet. Of course as well as missing her to snuggle up to, Tilly has no-one to wind up, throw toys at, chase around the lounge etc any more, and is spending all her time looking sad on the sofa. We’ve been doing our best to get out and about though and do all Dixie’s favourite walks.

  15. Ken Brown says:

    Been away from blogs for such a long time and sensed something missing when reading through your recent posts. So sorry to hear that Dixie has gone…having been through the same with Maisie I know how you must be missing her. Take care.

    Ken

    • Thanks, Ken. What a hole she has left in our lives! Life has been a little difficult and empty for a few months, although things are starting to move on now. Still expect to turn around and see her half the time, though….

Feel free to leave a comment!

