The Liebster Award

Many thanks have to go to Mike @ Peak Rambler’s Ramblings…. for nominating me for this award 🙂

And now, to answer Mike’s questions:

1. Favourite outdoor place ?

Until about 4 years ago, all our backpacking for many years had been done in the States, so I’m afraid I’m a bit USA-centric. My parents lived for over 20 years in both the States and Canada, so I do feel as though I have a real link with the place. Over this time we backpacked in numerous wonderful spots – the Wind River Range, the Cascades, the White Mountains, Ontario, Alaska – to name but a few. The one place we kept returning to time and time again, however, was Yosemite, so this has to go down as my favourite outdoor place. In fact, just to be a touch morbid, I have put it in my will that I would like my ashes to be scattered there if at all possible……!

Coming a very close second, though, would be Ingleton and Ingleborough; the site of many wonderful caravan holidays when I was young and, just like North America, also full of wonderful memories of my mum and dad.

2. Favourite piece of technology to use whilst outdoors ?

Nothing sprang to mind when I read this, but as I thought about it I realised that when wild camping, I really enjoy listening to my MP3 player when whiling away the hours in the tent. I always have it on random, so I never know what track is coming next!

3. Favourite outdoor food ?

Probably hubby Geoff’s home-made fruit cake, along with a big slab of Wensleydale cheese. Better than any butty! And even better when he makes it as a Christmas cake, covered in home-made marzipan and thick icing……

4. Outdoors ambition ?

The Big One, that I keep thinking about with alarming regularity, is to do the John Muir Trail.

5. Favourite place to stay.. wild camp, YHA or hotel/B&B ?

Now I’m on both extremes with this one. I love wild camping and have camped in some amazing places – but I’m also rather partial to the odd 5* hotel……

6. Piece of music, book or film that you associate with getting out ?

Mmm, don’t know if I actively associate it with getting out, but one of my favourite books of all time is Bill Bryson’s ‘A Walk in the Woods’. I’m not exaggerating when I say I must have read it about 20 times. It’s the book I always reach for when I’m feeling a bit down for any reason, as it always makes me laugh so much. In fact, now I’m really thinking about it, I do associate it with getting out, as it has so much in it that I recognise from backpacking in the States – bear encounters, black flies, intense heat, horrendous thunderstorms, worrying about snakes, not to mention amazing wilderness where you might be 3 or 4 days hike from the nearest trailhead…..

7. Best comedy moment in the outdoors ?

Only in hindsight…….

Half way round a 15 mile walk in the Peak District, Geoff discovered he’d forgotten his lunch. Being the kind, caring person that I am, I shared mine with him, even though it meant I struggled with hunger myself later on in the day. When unpacking his rucsac after returning home in the evening, he found his lunch, hidden at the bottom……

8. Who has inspired you to get out and enjoy the outdoors ?

This has to be my parents. Taking me up Ingleborough at the tender age of 6, wearing a cotton anorak with a Mars Bar in the pocket, definitely started it all off.

9. Favourite beverage after a hard day spent outside ?

Easy – a pint mug of strong tea, with loads of sugar.

10. Being outdoors.. how does it make you feel ?

Privileged, extremely lucky, calm, peaceful, energized, full of awe, far from everyday cares.

11. Where will your next adventure take you ?

Current plans are for a 7 day trip starting next Saturday, around the Yorkshire Dales, with Tilly the Chocolate Labrador for company. James is also joining us for the first two days. The route keeps changing slightly as I keep faffing with it, but basically I’m planning on starting in Hardraw and finishing in Burtersett – the route describing a large arc to the west.

****************************************************************************************

So now it comes to nominating some more blogs for the award. Of course, some of the ones that I would automatically think of nominating have already been put forward, but here are a few that I don’t think have:

Dawn’s Pages

Far Not Fast

Beating The Bounds

surfnslide

markswalkingblog

And should they choose to accept the award, here are the questions:

1. Favourite outdoor place ?

2. Favourite piece of technology to use whilst outdoors ?

3. Favourite outdoor food ?

4. Outdoors ambition ?

5. Favourite place to stay.. wild camp, YHA or hotel/B&B ?

6. Piece of music, book or film that you associate with getting out ?

7. Best comedy moment in the outdoors ?

8. Who has inspired you to get out and enjoy the outdoors ?

9. Favourite beverage after a hard day spent outside ?

10. Being outdoors.. how does it make you feel ?

11. Where will your next adventure take you ?

About chrissiedixie

Love being out on the moors and mountains, backpacking, dogs, travelling generally. Favourite place in the world - Yosemite National Park. Retired teacher and ex Mountain Rescue Deputy Team Leader. Married to Geoff, who puts up with all sorts.
This entry was posted in Bits and Pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Liebster Award

  1. Brilliant. 🙂

    I guessed from the back ground photos you had spent sometime the other side of the Atlantic.

    All the best for the forthcoming Yorkshire Dales, I hope the weather is kind to you.

  2. beatingthebounds says:

    Thanks Chrissie, interesting set of questions. Not entirely surprised that you chose Yosemite, but didn’t know about your penchant for a luxury hotel – haven’t noticed those posts!
    I’ve a window in my schedule to answer these questions in 2017 I think.

  3. Sartenada says:

    You earn this award. Congratulations!

Feel free to leave a comment!

