A Wander Along St. Cuthbert’s Way

Day One, Jedburgh to Maxton, about 10 miles.

Featuring Dixie, the Eildon Hills, the River Tweed, lots of steps and lovely sunny weather.

DSC04508

DSC04509

DSC04515

DSC04527

DSC04531

DSC04535

DSC04541

DSC04542

Day Two, Maxton to Jedburgh, about 8 miles.

Featuring Deere Street (a Roman route), hot weather, an Indiana Jones style suspension bridge that had me hanging on to the rails in the wind and Dixie crawling across on her tummy, the River Tweed again and tarmac.

DSC04545 DSC04550DSC04553DSC04554DSC04555

Day Three, Jedburgh to Grubbit Law, about 11 miles.

Featuring fields, more fields, tarmac, more tarmac, hot weather, a wild camp on Grubbit Law and Dixie resting in the van for a few days.

DSC04560

DSC04562

DSC04574

DSC04576

DSC04579

DSC04580

 

Day Four, Grubbit Law to Hethpool, about 11 miles.

Featuring clag, rain, tarmac, the Pennine Way, more clag, more rain, even more rain, tarmac and a very nice gentleman in Hethpool who took pity on my bedraggled appearance and let me pitch for the night in one of his fields.

DSC04582

DSC04583

 

DSC04587

DSC04588

DSC04591

DSC04592

 

DSC04597

 

Day Five, Hethpool to Wooler, about 8 miles.

Featuring lovely weather once more, a few midges, a gorgeous walk over the tops to Wooler and a meet up with Geoff and my doggies again in the van.

 

DSC04608

DSC04613

 

DSC04614

DSC04616

DSC04619

 

Day Six, Wooler to Fenwick, about 12 miles.

Featuring tarmac, lanes, more tarmac, a certain cyclist who suddenly appeared behind me shouting rude obscenities,  St. Cuthbert’s Cave, a potential wind farm site, the first view of Lindisfarne and Dixie still resting in the van.

DSC04624

 

DSC04625

DSC04626

DSC04631

DSC04640

DSC04637

Day Seven, Fenwick to Lindisfarne, about 6 miles.

Featuring Dixie, fields, phoning a signalman for permission to cross a railway line and crossing the causeway at low tide to reach Lindisfarne.

DSC04643

DSC04644

DSC04645

DSC04646

DSC04650

 

DSC04655

DSC04656

DSC04657

DSC04659

DSC04668

 

About chrissiedixie

Love being out on the moors and mountains, backpacking, dogs, travelling generally. Favourite place in the world - Yosemite National Park. Retired teacher and ex Mountain Rescue Deputy Team Leader. Married to Geoff, who puts up with all sorts.
This entry was posted in Backpacking Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Wander Along St. Cuthbert’s Way

  1. beatingthebounds says:

    That brings back some happy memories, I did this walk, must be quite some years ago now, with my parents, not all that long, I think, after it had opened. I thought it was a lovely walk (although admittedly, some parts are nicer than others).

    Like

    • It is a nice walk actually, although at times I did moan about the amount of tarmac. Apparently, though, there is more tarmac now than there was in the beginning. When we had the foot and mouth crisis, quite a lot of the field paths were closed and have never been opened again, so it’s perfectly possible that you did it when there was less road work?

      Like

      • beatingthebounds says:

        I don’t recall there being all that much road-walking? Could be rose-tinted spectacles though – it must be about 15 years ago at least that we walked it.

        Like

  2. Quite a different type of walk to the moors and mountains you usually do, but a change can be good sometimes.

    Like

  3. At first I thought you said ‘from Jedburgh to Malton’! now that would be quite some walk! What was with the cyclist?
    Carol.

    Like

  4. southwestdesertlover says:

    Exquisite photos, delightful writing and a heart-warming story as always Chrissie. As I read your blog post today, I had an idea – have you ever considered taking an extra person or two on some of your adventures? I think there are people who would pay to go on an adventure with someone who knew the area well. Just a thought.

    I’ve started looking at small vans/campers to see what I could find for Wyatt Earp the Boxer and me to travel with. :^) Great big virtual hug and chop kisses for Dixie and Tilly too!

    Like

    • Hi Karen, many thanks for your kind comments. 🙂 Of course I do like doing things with friends, but I’m not sure anyone would want to pay for my company! You’re absolutely right though, that it is nice sharing adventures and experiences with like-minded people.

      Good luck with your van hunting – I predict that it will be a positive, life-changing experience for both you and Wyatt Earp if you take the plunge!

      Like

  5. surfnslide says:

    Looks like a rather fine and varied stroll. Lacking the daily cakes of the previous trip though 🙂

    Like

  6. Lindisfarne, or Holy Island, is a lovely place. My wife and I visited there one windy October day in 2010.

    I hope that wind farm application fails…..

    Like

    • Since Dixie and I crossed to Lindisfarne and met up with Geoff and Tilly at about 10am, we then had to wait until nearly 4pm to cross back, so spent a few very pleasant hours wandering around the island. I had been there once before when I was 6 years old, when there was a village WI trip to Holy Island and it was surprising what strong memories I had of the place! (I’m originally from County Durham, so the village trip is not as daft as it sounds!)

      Like

Feel free to leave a comment! I moderate all comments so please be patient if it doesn't appear straight away :)

