Chilling At Monsal

DSC03666

DSC03669

DSC03671

DSC03672

DSC03678

DSC03684

DSC03688

DSC03692

DSC03693

DSC03699

DSC03700

DSC03707

DSC03712

DSC03716

DSC03718

About chrissiedixie

Love being out on the moors and mountains, backpacking, dogs, travelling generally. Favourite place in the world - Yosemite National Park. Retired teacher and ex Mountain Rescue Deputy Team Leader. Married to Geoff, who puts up with all sorts.
This entry was posted in Day Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Chilling At Monsal

  1. A fantastic weekend, great company, perfect weather, good camping and nearby pub. Roll on the next one…

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Dawn says:

    Looks fantastic Chrissie

  3. surfnslide says:

    Obligatory photo of Tilly with a plastic bottle ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Jerry Kromer says:

    Wow! Love the whole hiking trail tunnel! Don’t have too many of those here… Where is that tunnel located? Looks like you guys had a great time!

    • Hi Jerry! The tunnel’s in Derbyshire, in the UK. The trail was originally a railway line until it was closed in the 1960s – (there was a mass closure of all sorts of lines all over the UK in the 60s). These days, it’s a good route for hikers, cyclists and horse riders!

      It was a good weekend; a few mates from all over the country getting together, but the campsite just happened to be only half an hours drive away for us ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Looks like my kind of weekend! And I love that tunnel

    • I have to be honest, the tunnel was quite fun. I liked the way you couldn’t see one end from the other, and yet it wasn’t in the slightest bit claustrophobic……unlike caving……

  6. Ach, don’t remind me! I went caving/potholing down near Cheddar Gorge with the Venture Scouts, back in my teens, and scared myself silly when I got badly ‘wedged’ at one point – staving off a blind panic, whilst trying to imagine how on earth any rescue team would extract me from the tight space….obviously I did manage to wriggle free eventually, haha! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Up until that point I had absolutely loved the experience!

  7. backpackingbongos says:

    Who’s the funny lookin fella in the headscarf?

  8. REX BAUM says:

    Sooo…that is what a “Buffed Geoff” looks like, I had often wondered what it would look like.

    Sorry, that was my evil twin’s doing on that last comment. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    What he had meant to say was..”It looks like everyone enjoyed themselves, and
    Sporty-Geoff sure looks sharp in his new and stylish hat, a rather fine choice indeed.” ๐Ÿ™‚

    Regards,
    Rex

  9. I’ve walked there and biked it it’s really fun.I think it’s the absailing bridge is near there for whitehall.Looks a nice day! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Katie! I really enjoyed walking through the tunnel, it was very atmospheric. I think Dixie enjoyed it too.
      You won’t catch me abseiling off any bridge when I go to Whitehall……… ๐Ÿ™‚

Feel free to leave a comment!

